Mercy triumphs over judgment!

Speak and act as those who are going to be judged by the law that gives freedom, because judgment without mercy will be shown to anyone who has not been merciful. Mercy triumphs over judgment!” -James 2:12-13

These verses spoke to me this morning, while reading James 2. I’ll attempt some, by no means wise, comments on this.

Being judgmental has always been something I’ve struggled with. So this morning, when I saw this verses, they just popped out. The fact that we are not shown mercy if we show none to others, was very thought provoking! Often, we are so set in our ways that when we see someone doing things differently, we judge them for it. It’s not in our place to judge. It’s God’s! If we want to be shown mercy, we must show it to others! Even if someone is actually in the wrong, though it is good to show accountability and encourage fellow Christians, sometimes the best we can do is pray and not pass judgement. You never know what’s going on in their lives.

Well, I hope this little blurb was at least a little stimulating on this Sunday morning! I most definitely was convicted by these verses. And I pray I will start showing others more mercy, because without God’s mercy I would be lost!

-Natalie Marie

 

 

Posted on March 4, 2012, in Bible Study and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beautiful early-Spring pictures Natalie !

    The passage from James is an important one to ponder . It is so easy to forget in our own self-righteousness how much sin in our own lives we have been forgiven . I think you’re right that we never know what other people are struggling with in their lives , and how God is dealing with them .

    I would also add , that James in the last two verses of that book says : ” Brethren ,if anyone among you wanders from the truth , and someone turns him back ,let him know that he who turns a sinner from the error of his way will save a soul from death and cover a multitude of sins . ” James 5 : 19 -20 .

    It seems as we show mercy on those around us instead of harsh judgement , we can sometimes gently help them to see their sin and need for repentance , thus saving them future heartache and judgement .

    I’m glad to see you thinking through these verses and sharing them . We could certainly all do better in this area !

    Love ,

    Dad

Leave a comment